

Demography Prize 2014/15

The Foundation for the Rights of Future Generations (FRFG) and the Intergenerational Foundation (IF) invite entries for the fifth Demography Prize. Prizes totalling € 10,000, funded by the Stiftung Apfelbaum, will be awarded to the best papers submitted.

The topic for the 2014/15 Prize is

Low Electoral Turnout among Young People - Consequences and Remedies

Topic

Young people are much less likely to vote than older people. In the 2010 elections in Britain only 44% of those aged 18-24 voted compared to 76% in the 65-plus age group. A trend towards a diminishing youth vote can be observed in many democracies. Part of that can be ascribed to demographic change and the ageing of populations, which have seen a rise in the median age of the voting public as well as in the average age within political parties.

As a result, young people, and the issues that concern them, run the serious risk of being under-represented in government.

The Demography Prize 2014/15 therefore asks the question: what can be done to encourage the participation of young people in elections and increase their share of the vote?

It invites discussion about the opportunities for, and problems posed by, institutional change, for example through a lowering of the voting age or the introduction of compulsory voting or the use of financial inducement. In addition, ways to simplify the act of voting, for example through e-voting, and the differences in attitudes towards political participation between young and old might also be explored.

Target group

The Demography Prize is primarily aimed at young academics (undergraduates, graduates, PhD students), but is open to all who take a similarly academic approach to their writing. The submission of group projects is also welcome.

Submission requirements and deadline

Submissions will be accepted until 1 June 2015. For more information about the competition, please consult the IF website (www.if.org.uk; see under Prizes). To request formal entry requirements, email antony@if.org.uk.

Jury – The jury will include:

- **Uwe Wagschal** (Albert Ludwigs University of Freiburg)
- Rüdiger Schmitt-Beck (University of Mannheim)
- Franziska Wächter (Evangelischen Hochschule, Dresden)
- Christina Tillmann (Bertelsmann Foundation)
- Katie Ghose (Chief Executive of the Electoral Reform Society, UK)
- · James Sloam (Royal Holloway, University of London)
- Andrew Mycock (University of Huddersfield)
- Matt Henn (Nottingham Trent University)
- Jörg Tremmel (Eberhard Karls University, Tübingen)
- Andy Furlong (University of Glasgow)